29
Jun
09

Dell vs Dell

Well, it’s time to get my geek on. A few weeks ago I was ruminating on getting a new desktop computer for my office. I bought a Dell Dimension 4600 a little more than 6 years ago. I’ve run it 24/7 since purchase and have been generally happy with it. I know that the expected life of a desktop is about 3 years, so I am not upset over a HD replacement, memory upgrade or video card upgrade. It’s  Pentium 4 system running at 3gHz on XP Pro with maxed out RAM and is now showing it’s age. It also has an upcoming HD failure (again) and the watch battery has been replaced (a sure sign of doom), as well as signs that the power supply is getting wonky. This machine cost me around $2,000.

I ordered a new Dell this weekend. I got a system that features the Intel Core i7, 3G of tri-channel RAM, blah, blah, blah. I ordered an additional 6G of RAM from Newegg.com. My total bill is about $850 to my door. It should be here in a week or so and I am already dreading the data transfer debacle. Hell, that never goes smoothly. Hopefully, though, I’ll have another machine that will blaze through another 6 years!

