23
Jun
09

Garden Delights

06300027
This is the bloom of the Passion Flower. It is a moderately aggressive vine that is growing in my backyard in the Houston area. I never really knew of the existence of this flower until a few years ago when I was visiting the wonderful garden of one of my wife’s co-workers. Actually, it was a pool party with margarita consumption as a primary activity, but I digress. I was startled by how vibrant and intense each bloom was and that there were so darn many of them. I spent the next few weeks combing garden shops until I found a few buckets to plant in my backyard. Fast forward to now and the vines have managed to completely cover the trellis attached to about 40 linear feet of fence line. Deep, dense green foliage that is punctuated by these amazing flowers. Even the hummingbirds seem mesmerized by the splendor.

I’m also pleased to report that after nearly 18 years at this house, I’ve finally developed enough shade for hostas to not only grow, but bloom and thrive. This is a major milestone.

2 Responses to “Garden Delights”


  1. 1 Anna
    June 23, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I saw some passion flowers at my friends blueberry farm. They grow like weeds in her blueberries.

  2. June 24, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I can easily see those things becoming more pest like! But they are damn pretty…


Comments are currently closed.

