24
Nov
08

I Iz Scared

A neighbor that I share about a half dozen fence pickets with has one of these Great Dane dogs. I think it is called a Harlequin, but I call it a small horse. Anyway, those fence pickets have been rotted and gone for almost a year. I gotta tell ya, it scares the crap outta me when I’m in my backyard and this thing’s head pokes through and it starts barking at me to come play. So when hurricane Ike hit just awhile back, I went over and and knocked on the guy’s door. I introduced myself and offered to help him repair the fence and even help out with the cost of materials. He told me not to bother since he was having the whole fence replaced in a week or so. Well that week has come and gone and the dog is still scaring the bejeepers out of me. So last week I went and knocked on the door. No answer. So I left a half dozen brand new fence pickets on his front porch, right in front of the door. Cars have come and gone, the dog barks, the neighbor sits in front of his house and smokes his cigarette and drinks his beer… and the fence pickets are still on the porch. I really would just fix the thing myself, but he has the “good side” of the fence and I am NOT getting in that yard with the dog!

8 Responses to “I Iz Scared”


  1. 1 Anna
    November 25, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Our neighbors across the alley have a Great Dane and we get hours of amusement watching it scare the crap out of anyone walking down the alleyway.

  2. November 25, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    We have a small horse, but it’s of the Great Pyrenees variety. His bark will scare the hell out of ya, but you are only in danger of being nuzzled and licked to death. Our smaller mutt dog is the one I wouldn’t mess with.

    Too bad about the fence, and I don’t know how you could do more to persuade your neighbor to fix it.

  3. March 3, 2009 at 12:44 am

    That is a male Great Dane with Harlequin coloring… I have 2 of them 🙂

    They are incredible dogs. Not overly active, but just active when you want them to be, and half asleep the rest of the time. They are EXTREMELY gentle, especially with little ones, just fantastic with kids. They are very smart, easily trained and completely people oriented. They are also very, very laid back. They also only have a single short haired coat, so the shedding is not too bad… the only thing more hypo-allergenic would be a poodle or a poodle cross.

    Scooby Doo is a Great Dane… and pretty representative of the breed. Loving, gentle, super friendly, love life, scared of most things, but brave when it comes to protecting it’s family.

    As odd as it may sound because of their size, they make fantastic apartment dogs as long as you give them a bit of a walk at least once a day, nothing too big… a couple blocks and they are good.

    • November 9, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      you’re right scooby is the perfect description. I have a 10 month old black dane & he’s sweet & wouldn’t hurt anyone, he barks when someone comes to the door & then hides behind me!!!

  4. 5 Robert Phiri
    November 13, 2009 at 7:55 am

    This is indeed a great dog , l love it men if I could make it fly to Africa Zimbabwe Bulawayo. I would without delay but funds are a great hindrance.

    Regards

    Robert

  5. 6 Theresa
    November 14, 2009 at 9:46 am

    That is a bummer about the fence, and a dane’s bark can be intimidating, but I’ll just make a quick echo of the previous and say they are just big babies who love to snuggle. The only thing you need be watchful of is the “happy tail” 🙂 My silver merle doesn’t ever seem to know where is back side is!

  6. 7 Peter momanyi
    December 6, 2009 at 10:56 am

    My friend bought a great dane and since then, i have never visited him or got anywhere close to his house. I wouldn’t want to find out what that dog could do when it is infuriated. Gentle and friendly it may be, but i wouldn’t bet anything on that assumption.


Comments are currently closed.

