21
Oct
08

Yard Angst

Front yard drama has landed in my little suburban community just outside of Houston. Almost predictably, the residences owned by “minorities” have Obama signs and the ones owned by TWP have McCain signs. Of course, I think both choices are horrible and it’s just a matter of figuring out which one sucks less. The interesting thing is that when I tried to engage a conversation by asking a few folks what they thought their candidate was going to do for them and this country… all I got was emotional rhetoric. So I gave up. No matter who gets in, things will get a lot worse before they get better. Politics isn’t rational.

2 Responses to “Yard Angst”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 1:52 am

    I feel fortunate to live on a street where there are NO signs for either candidate. It sort of raises my estimate of neighbors’ intelligence.

    On a drive to East Texas last week, the signs were grouped so that one could predict the predominate racial makeup of any particular grouping. That’s sad in so many ways.

  2. October 22, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I would be so much more cheerful if our little community was the same way. Sadly, this has become quite the polarizing election, eh?


Comments are currently closed.

