21
Oct
08

Promoting Infidelity

After reaching what is likely to be the mid-point of my life, I feel that I have a pretty good grasp on how relationships work. I don’t completely get them, but I know enough to at least comprehend the ways of the world. For the most part, a monogamous relationship is the standard. Straight or gay, black or white, whatever. Having an “affair”, “cheating”, and “stepping out” on your significant other will generally cause significant distress. And I am not including those relationships that include “variety” as part of their program in this rant. That is why I was gobsmacked when I heard an ad on the radio this morning while driving to the doctor’s office. One woman was chatting with another and commented on how happy and cheerful she looked. The other responded that it was because she was having an affair. The ad went on to explain that it was, indeed, a situation of planned cheating on her other and it was arranged by an online service (Ashley Madison) that specializes in getting the hook up for folks lookin’ for a little something extra.

I realize that this “service” is just a natural evolution of the “stuff” you can get on the net… but this just strikes me as being completely wrong. Cheating shouldn’t be easy.

4 Responses to “Promoting Infidelity”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Cheating has always been easy. I would imagine that having to do it “online” is for those who can’t figure out the easy way. Or maybe I’m just really cynical.

  2. October 22, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Maybe using the word “easy” was a mistake. Cheating and infidelity are, indeed, quite easy activities. I guess the thing about the advertisements and this service is that they are being touted as a way to make yourself happier.

  3. October 23, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Cheating shouldn’t be encouraged and presented as “socially acceptable” is my take. That’s the real problem. The website is a result of the weakening of the taboo.

  4. November 10, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Now cheating websites are bilingual. I just came upon one http://www.scapadasamorosas.com caters to eng/spanish speaking married women looking for married men for casual and discreet encounters. Now its straight to the point and no beating around the bush..I think it’s a good idea to have these sites. no lies(other than to spouse)..adults getting down to business…


Comments are currently closed.

