14
Aug
08

Potty Mouth Ticket

Saw a blurb on the news last night about a local woman receiving a citation for cursing in public; it was a Walmart store, to be specific. Okay, the woman was reportedly dropping f-bombs and an assistant fire marshal asked her to refrain. That didn’t work and she kept on cursing up a blue streak. She was then issued a citation and the fire marshal’s boss backed up the actions of the assistant. I happen to agree with the result of the confrontation. But it got me to thinking.

One of the interviewed folks thought that the ticket was wrong “cuz she might of, you know, had a bad day”. Huh? We all know that you shouldn’t use foul language in public, especially when impressionable younguns are around. And I know that they are only words, but being asked to refrain should be sufficient. I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve swiveled my head with a sharp “Hey!” and a determined glare when folks have started cussing in front of my kids. It usually stops. I guess most folks are unaware of the fact that you can be cited for such stupidity. So, what do you think? Should this type of citation become more commonplace, or is it really no big deal?

1 Response to “Potty Mouth Ticket”


  1. August 15, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    From the way this cursing is described, along with the refusal to stop, I’d have to suspect a mental illness instead of ordinary assholery.

    But, yeah give more citations. Mental illness is not an excuse for disorderly conduct.


Comments are currently closed.

