28
Jul
08

Love Your Pets Longer

I am not an animal rights activist. I don’t like PETA. But I do wear leather and I do eat the flesh of other animals. I think I finally found out where I draw the line. Turning your pet into a pelt (warning, extremely disturbing photos). And I think I know why. The cow, fish, chicken, pig, whatever… did not provide companionship to me. This is just not right.

3 Responses to “Love Your Pets Longer”


  1. July 28, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    oh my, that was disturbing and I think you’ve hit on the major reason why. One other criteria might be no pelts of animals that do not prey on humans as food.

  2. July 28, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Zebras don’t prey on humans and neither do cows. The zebra pelt on my friend’s den floor doesn’t bother me in the slightest (the meat from that hunt was donated to locals, etc.). Our pets can look at us and, at the very least, reflect our love… if not display their own. I’m trying to refine the line in my mind. Horsehide makes for a fine and durable leather. I use horsehide. I wonder if I could use the hide of *my* horse after it passed? It’s sorta like the FFA dilemma: a kid raises the champion steer that garners a bajillion dollars at charity auction. The winning bidder has the steer processed and has a banquet for friends (that is rarely publicized with the winning bid amount!). The kid that raised the steer is usually invited. Does he/she go and if so, does he/she eat the steer? Those two were really close, bordering on pet level…

  3. July 29, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    You’re right, it’s complex. Do you remember the Thanksgiving scene from “The Giant”?

    Pedro!!!!


Comments are currently closed.

