24
Jul
08

Safe To Eat?

Mad cow disease, salmonella, tainted meat, E. coli, botulism, listeria… The ways that you can get really sick from food are almost impossible to count. I was reading some of the online news about the US government’s inept handling of the latest food illness debacle. Well over a 1000 folks have come down with salmonella. First it was tomatoes. And everybody scrambled to make tomatoes go away. Then it wasn’t tomatoes. Then it was jalapenos. Some grocery stores pulled them, others did not. I opined out loud that my trust in the food supply is eroding. I griped about the fact that I am funding a government nanny-state bureaucracy that is completely incapable of carrying out there mandate: protecting the food supply. Why do we assume that whatever we buy from the grocery store is safe to eat? And do food marketers capitalize on our belief (hope) that their stuff is safe? And do we think that getting free cantaloupes at the organic market is any safer?

2 Responses to “Safe To Eat?”


  1. July 25, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Well, the cantaloupes at the store didn’t seem so harmless at the time but now, looking back, I realize… I scored!


Comments are currently closed.

