15
Jul
08

Jacking With Corporate America

I went to pick up some new shorts and t-shirts at Old Navy yesterday. Cheap prices and bad plaid shorts are a great combination for me. My purchase total came to about $40ish and I used my American Express card (I’m a point monger). The check out clerk asked to see the card; no problem. She then asked to see my ID. “Nope”. “It’s store policy, sir”. “I don’t care what your policy is. Your merchant agreement does not allow you to ask for any ID when a credit card is signed on the back”. “I have to see your ID”. “No you do not”. And I just stood there. Several other customers stood by glancing around furtively to see how this would play out. The manager eventually showed up and processed my purchase without ID. The manager never checked to see if the signature on the card matched the signature I placed on the receipt.

I’m giving serious consideration to spending some time ripping Old Navy a new butt for their contract violation policy and for not having *effectively* trained employees that know how to handle credit cards.

2 Responses to “Jacking With Corporate America”


  1. July 15, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Can you believe I was actually once asked for my social security card? The stupid clerk insisted that they had to write my social security number on the check I’d just written.

  2. July 15, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Blah. And I will be email bombing the executive branch of Old Navy with s few written follow ups to American Express and the merchant account provider for Old Navy.


Comments are currently closed.

