20
Jun
08

I Have Not Been Stimulated

Here it is, June 20th, and I have not received my government stimulus check. I am not able to help bolster the economy. I cannot put Americans back to work. I cannot offset the slowing economy. I for damn sure have trouble paying for a tank of gas. The last two digits of the master social security account for our house indicated that we would be in the last run of checks to be received. We could not file electronically because the IRS felt it was necessary for us to sacrifice the better part of a giant sequoia to print out the 2007 return. Since we received a printed check, we get a printed stimulus check. Or not.

For those who have already been stimulated… was it good?

7 Responses to “I Have Not Been Stimulated”


  1. 1 nick
    June 20, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Ohhh man, it started out good, but after a bit it just turned out like every other time. You think its special, but find out that that dollar had stimulated 50 other guys and a few girls too.

  2. 2 Anna
    June 20, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Being stimulated is always good. Although the money is currently sitting in my saving account not stimulating anyone because I secretly have the spending habits of a 90 year old woman, who, having survived the depression is still worried that she will have to resort to eating grass-clipping soup if she doesn’t save her pennies.

  3. June 20, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    We were stimulated, but felt cheapened and sad by the whole experience.

    On another note, we were raped at the gas pump yesterday. By coincidence, every vehicle we own needed a tank of gas. The last time I spent that much money in one day was for my daughter’s wedding.

  4. June 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I had an interesting experience yesterday. I went with my neighbor to the corner grocery store to pick up some missing items. He decided to fill his truck because he was on empty. He drives a Ford F350 diesel dualie with two tanks. I have never seen a fill up that expensive that wasn’t an over the road 18-wheeler. He did pay for about half the bill in rolled up quarters. I think I strained something helping him carry the quarters to the clerk. I *know* that I strained something from laughing as the clerk unrolled all the quarters and counted them out. I’ve always threatened to do something like that…

  5. June 21, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    She unrolled them all? I’d have laughed MAO too!

  6. June 24, 2008 at 10:27 am

    And just as an update… I still have not been stimulated. The IRS site informs me that I will probably not be stimulated until mid-July. I wonder if I can work something out with the Mrs.?


Comments are currently closed.

