24
May
08

Opiate Of The Masses

As it turns out, there may be more truth to that sobriquet about religion than we actually thought. New studies have indicated that the burning of ceremonial incense, such as in the picture above, has a psychoactive effect on the human brain. Congratulations to the Catholics. It’s not about faith or diddling little boys… It’s about being a stoner!

4 Responses to “Opiate Of The Masses”


  1. 1 croixian1
    May 24, 2008 at 9:28 am

    LMAO! Thanks for a belly laugh on a Saturday morning!

  2. May 24, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I always thought the incense was to disguise the odor of marijuana. But then, I wasn’t in church.

  3. 3 nick
    May 29, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    “It’s not about faith or diddling little boys”?

    I’m really hoping that that is just some Texas saying, because if its saying what I think its saying then it is obnoxious, insensitive and damn offensive.

  4. May 29, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I’m sorry that you feel that way. I find a lot of the things that religious leaders do in taking advantage of people to be extremely distasteful, as well. I think it is ridiculous that people who are trusted to the care of the physical and spiritual well-being of children can wind up abusing those very same people. I do realize that abuses such as these happen in all parts of life. But I also feel like priests, teachers, etc. should be held to a higher standard. The fact that the Roman Catholic church has paid out billions over the years to make these cases “go away” suggests that it is an ongoing problem and not just a few fleeting cases. Perhaps my attempt at humor touched a nerve. In many cases, humor and sarcasm are my ways of dealing with truly unpleasant issues.


Comments are currently closed.

