14
May
08

Clean Your Butt

I used to smoke cigarettes some 17 or 18 years ago. Did it for a long time. I still smoke a pipe and cigars, so I am sympathetic to how smokers have become the least favored minority. Fellow smokers: we do a crappy job of image management. My neighbor smokes cigarettes and I am constantly having to clean up the butts that he flicks into the grass. I offered a flowerpot filled with sand… it goes unused. Cigarette butts line the rain gutters of all the streets in the neighborhood. I watch motorists flicking butts out of their windows and even dumping entire ashtrays on the street while at a stop light. Many smokers that I know cannot even be bothered to empty their own ashtray inside. Here’s a hot tip: it looks bad, it smells bad, and it is a nasty eyesore. Cigarette butts do not just instantly decompose. They stay around for something like 10,316 years each (give or take). Clean your butt.

6 Responses to “Clean Your Butt”


  1. May 15, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I hear ya. I’m a smoker, but I have “disposal” areas in my front and back yards. Flicking a butt in a neighbor’s yard is unthinkable to me. My problem is when my brother-in-law visit. I’m picking up his butts for days afterwards.

    I have little sympathy for sloppy smokers.

    One thing I have noticed is that there are fewer and fewer disposal areas in outdoor public places where smoking is NOT prohibited. Do people think that not providing a place for the butts is going to inhibit smoking? I carry an empty candy tin with me now.

  2. May 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Altoids to the rescue! And I am happy to provide ashtrays and such. I just wish more people would actually use them. I’ve got one neighbor who alternates between flicking cigarettes all over creation and then spitting phlegm in the places the butts aren’t. Not THAT’S a disgusting combo.

  3. May 15, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Exactly! I don’t know why I couldn’t remember Altoids when posting, but that’s the one.

  4. May 15, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    the phlegm, I don’t want to comment on. ewwwwwwwww……….

  5. May 16, 2008 at 7:56 am

    It’s disgusting on so many levels. He’s got a toddler and little bit older kid, too. Both of them run around outside, the toddler is usually barefoot. So he’s constantly got crud in his lungs, smokes two packs a day, scatters his butts hither and yon, and is hocking up little gooey piles of sickness everywhere. Ick.

  6. May 17, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Thanks to this post, I’m loving my neighbors more and more. The worst thing they do is one of them is going to start their leaf blower, lawnmower, chain saw, or Harley at 7am on Saturday and Sunday.


Comments are currently closed.

