15
Apr
08

Yvette’s Chix & Dumps

I did not invent this recipe. I admit this freely. But over time I have made it my own and it really is never the same, twice. Recently, a state of panic was achieved. I had sent the recipe to Yvette, a good friend, a good while ago. She pronounced it fantastic. No problem… But then she lost the recipe. And then I couldn’t find it. And then my house decided to go into the crapper along with a bad case of appliance failure. I was not in the mood to go through my archived email where the sent recipe resided. Days… Yvette found it! She sent it back to me and I am putting it here and enshrining it with her name and moniker for the dish. Enjoy!

Yvette’s Chix & Dumps

Ingredients:
4 Tablespoons of butter
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
1 Tablespoon bacon fat (it’s in the coffee can at the back of the fridge)
1 Onion, chopped
3 Pounds of your favorite chicken parts (best to use a whole bird, cut up)
2 Cups chicken broth (I prefer stock, but it can be a pain)
2 Stalks celery, sliced
2 Carrots, peeled and sliced
1 Teaspoon black pepper (please use fresh ground)
Salt to taste (coarse is better)
1/2 Teaspoon ground allspice
1 Cup dry white wine (optional, or use real sherry)
1 Can refrigerated biscuits (this is Southern Heresy, but you want easy)
1/2 cup heavy cream (not optional!)
2 Tablespoons of flour

Method:
In a large skillet, brown onion in butter and oil until just tender, then add the bacon fat and brown the chicken parts. Place all of this in a 6 quart crock pot. Add remaining ingredients, except heavy cream, flour and biscuits. Cook on high for 2 1/2 to 3 hours or on low 5 to 7 hours (low is always better). Mix flour and cream together and stir mixture into crock pot. Open the can of biscuits and cut each one into 4 pieces. Drop into crock pot and set temperature to high. These will need to cook for about 30 minutes, until they are firm… Just don’t put the biscuits in the pot at the beginning. When it’s all done, I suppose that you could go through the trouble of de-boning the chicken. Just eat around the bones. Except for the part where you add the biscuits, you may not lift the lid of the crock pot until it’s all done.

