15
Apr
08

Overkill For Dinner

Every now and then, the menu for the last meal that was served to First Class on the Titanic gets circulated or posted on a blog that I read. I usually skim over it and move on. This time, something caught my eye. The first part of the fourth course (there are ten) is something called Tournedos Lili. I looked at the description and I think my blood thickened. Of course, I’m going to have to give this a try…

Tournedos Lili are seasoned steak fillets fried in butter, then arranged to form a crown, each on a crust of Potatoes Anna (basically, layered potato slices, generously buttered and baked in a hot oven for 30 minutes; Escoffier 2203), and then topped with an artichoke bottom, garnished with a slice of foie gras, and then topped with a slice of truffle, and served with a Périgueux sauce (Madiera wine, reduced veal stock, and chopped truffle; Escoffier, 47).

Serve with Benicar, Lipitor, and seltzer.

3 Responses to “Overkill For Dinner”


  1. 1 Anna
    April 15, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    yay for Potatoes Anna!

  2. April 15, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    oh my… I’ll have to try that too. Whenever I’ve saved up enough to buy a truffle 🙂

  3. April 16, 2008 at 8:57 am

    I’m pretty sure that this dish does not fit in at all on the food pyramid!


Comments are currently closed.

