10
Mar
08

Politics Be Too Political

Ok. There was a little back and forth in one of my posts the other day. We all get so wound up in trying to fix labels upon each other and I’m not really quite sure how it applies to me. I think that I was, for about 9 minutes, a Democrat. For a long time I have considered myself a Republican.  Sure, there are dashes of Libertarian and Anrachist… but the Republican moniker doesn’t hold up. As I look at this current US election that is a race to mediocrity, I can only marvel at how the two main parties in control of this country have managed to screw things up so badly. Everything is out of hand and nobody seems willing or able to do something about it with anything that vaguely resembles a mandate.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

For those who may be a little light on the Constitution of the United States, that’s the Preamble. It sets the basic tone for what the original authors wanted to accomplish. Domestic Tranquility was concerned with keeping states from knocking the snot out of each other, not creating police forces to cudgel the citizens. Common defence seems kind of reasonable. Promoting welfare had nothing to do with handouts of government cheese or a WIC program; it means to promote an environment of well-being. Everything else starts the whole train of entitlement (sorry, Jon) rolling down the tracks. The document talks about making money, post offices, piracy laws, making war, prohibits certain kinds of law from being made, restricts taxation (gulp), creates an ability to provide judicial redress, defines State’s rights, and then throws in a few amendments for the sake of clarification and future bickering.

So I have become an Exasperatist. I am simply and completely exasperated with government in its current guise. Everything needs to be torn down to the ground and re-built with an eye towards providing true value to those who are footing the bill. Of course, this ain’t gonna happen in my lifetime. So I will keep on voting, keep on bitching, and stay exasperated. I do wonder if I can start my own party. I hear that matching funds are available… (that was sarcasm).

