21
Feb
08

Another Postage Increase

The US Postal service is going to jack you for another penny in May. Yep, they are raising the rates to 43 cents on first class postage and raising some pricing on other classes, as well. I guess I would take this all in stride, except for the fact that I actually had to go to the post office this week. I stood in a line that wrapped around the building. I watched as clerks tried in vain to communicate with customers that did not speak English (or Spanish). But what really got me was the downright indifference displayed by the counter clerks. At the height of the line’s length, there were only two out of five windows open. When a new clerk did show up, she took care of exactly two customers and then “went on break”. Must be nice to have a government subsidy…

