20
Feb
08

A Three Hour Tour

I’ve made a sandwich and have packed a Dune novel. I’m considering making an extra sandwich to take along, just in case. You see, after the kids are all off to their respective schools, I head off to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) Drivers License Bureau. My license expires in a few days and I am not eligible to renew online because I have “significant changes” to the restrictions on my license (read: I can see without glasses). This means that I go get to spend the day at the West Houston outpost of the United Nations and witness the parade of screaming children, folks who do not know how to fill out the forms or wait in line, and the abject disdain and indifference of public employees who would really rather be someplace else. Three hours… right.

