14
Feb
08

Gettin’ Some Tonight?

The consumers in the United States and Europe (and probably many other places) are celebrating Valentine’s Daytoday. It was originally designed for early Christians to honor a couple of martyrs. Then it morphed into a traditional day for lovers to express their passion toward each other. Now, for adults, it’s a commercial juggernaut for the jewelry, floral, confectionery, bakery, restaurant, stuffed animal industry to lull us into a little spending spree with the promise of a little nookie at the end of the day. Little kids, blithely unaware of even the concept of romantic love, scurry about handing out little cards and pieces of bad candy to each other.

Tonight, I’ll take my girls out for, oh, chicken wings, we’ll giggle, I’ll tell them all that I love them (and mean it), and then we’ll sit around watching bad TV and passing gas. Now that’s love!

4 Responses to “Gettin’ Some Tonight?”


  1. 1 Anna
    February 14, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I was going to get the little cards with the heart suckers to pass out here, but I haven’t been to the store lately and I was not going to make a special trip.

  2. February 14, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Buy some catnip, instead. Your kitties will have fun, you and hubby will smile, and nobody goes into a diabetic coma!

  3. February 14, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    VH and I agreed: no Valentine’s gifts. We both consider it more romantic to, say, spend that money on getting our family out of debt than buying candy (which I don’t need) or flowers (which will just die) or cologne (which he won’t wear).

    Of course, my son doesn’t buy into that notion so we’ve baked heart-shaped cookies today and cut out umpteen gazillion hearts from construction paper, all of which he’s found terribly fun.

    But not as fun as the heart-shaped pizza I’m ordering for dinner, I hope.

  4. February 15, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    How was it? Did you get “heart burn”?


Comments are currently closed.

