25
Jan
08

Infuriating Marketing Change

I used to like VistaPrint. I’ve used them for years. Sometimes I would order their “free” business cards that had a VistaPrint advertisement on the back. It was reasonable, even considering that I had to pay their slightly inflated shipping charges for lengthy delivery times. I’ve also paid extra to have blank backs and to use my own images. Vista always respected my wishes to not fill my email box with spam deals. I liked that. They would tuck a coupon in with my order and when I needed something, I could use it at my discretion. I recently placed an order for around 3,000 business cards. And I paid a bunch extra for rush delivery. They arrived today. They were a little darker than expected, but they’ll do.

And then the phone rang. It showed up as a US number, but the pregnant pause between my answering the phone combined with the clicking sounds made it abundantly clear that I was being contacted via an auto-dialer and then transferred to a call center. The thickly accented Indian voice that finally said hello and then proceeded to botch the pronunciation of my name made things even more clear. Telemarketing. The woman wanted to know if my cards were right and then immediately went into a script trying to sell me on business consulting services and lead generation. I asked to be left alone, she tried to keep me on the line, and I told her I was hanging up, take me off of the call list, etc., and did.

Note to folks selling stuff: Don’t change the terms of you marketing approach in mid-stream. If you agree not to spam, keep your word. And that includes telemarketing. Why would I even consider a lowest cost printer as a provider of business services? I’m sure the call center in Mumbai or wherever is used to the rejection, though.

