23
Jan
08

A Man’s Gun

The radar-guided, rapid-firing Mk. 15 Phalanx Close-In Weapons System (CIWS, pron. “see-whiz”) can fire between 3,000-4,500 20mm cannon rounds per minute, either autonomously or under manual command, as a last-ditch defense against incoming missiles and other targets. Phalanx uses closed-loop spotting with advanced radar and computer technology to locate, identify and direct a stream of armor piercing projectiles toward the target (see video: MPEG | AVI, with hat tips to the good folks at Digg.com). I want one for my front yard. If only to pester the kids rolling through the neighborhood at 3:00am with the thump-thump stereo blastin’ or the hoodlums trying to vandalize my car. Overkill? Nah, this is Texas. Read more.

4 Responses to “A Man’s Gun”


  1. January 23, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I’d settle for a HumVee with a 50. It would handle the thump-thumpers and the hoodlums, plus nobody would tailgate you on the interstate.

  2. January 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Umm, I have one for sale. Okay, it’s not mine, but I am brokering it. Really. What’s your budget?

  3. January 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    My budget is nil. I’m driving a 98 Caddy with 175,000 miles on it and consider it nearly broken in.

    My daughter offered to get me one when she was a 2LT in the Army. The unnamed base where she was stationed at had 40 more than officially showed on their inventory. This was before 9/11 and there were no – NONE, nada, zero, guards at any of the gates.

    I should have taken her up on it 🙂

    However, my father and step-brother are always looking for a deal. (They actually have money too.) What’s the scoop and where is this thing located? They are in SW Arkansas and I’m in NW Louisiana.

  4. January 24, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Currently in Nevada with a Ma Deuce mounted on the top. The Ma Deuce is fully transferrable, too!


Comments are currently closed.

