20
Nov
07

GE: Service With a Smile

ref_cb.jpg

About a week ago I blogged about my brand new fridge acting up. I was none too pleased about the circumstance and even less thrilled with the idea that I would have to wait 8 days until today for a technician to come out to my house between the hours of 8 and 12 to maybe provide a warranty repair. Those 8 days have passed.

I received a phone call from a bright and courteous technician at 7:30 this morning confirming the appointment and telling me that I would be his first stop of the day. He arrived on time and was neat, clean, and polite. He asked me to describe the problem, which I did, and then informed me that my fridge was, indeed, still in warranty for this issue. He pulled the fridge away from the wall, listened, unplugged it, took off an access panel, replaced a circuit board, put it all back together, told me what was going on, and gave me the old board to throw away. All fixed. 16 minutes. GE Service rocks (except for it taking 8 days to get somebody out here).

1 Response to “GE: Service With a Smile”


  1. November 21, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    A few years ago I bought a new refrigerator, (I can’t remember the brand right now,) and after a week or so it started giving me trouble that required a service tech to come out to the house.

    Essentially what was going on was my freezer was nice and cold, but the refrigerator section was warm all of the time. Apparently the not-so-cold fridge side gets it’s cool air from the colder freezer side. Who knew?

    Anyway, the problem was the passageway would freeze over, and ultimately choke off the supply of cool air to the fridge. The fix? An on board water heater. I kid you not. They put a heater in my refrigerator so that it would stay cool.


Comments are currently closed.

