18
Nov
07

Coast To Coast, Straight Through

I’ve got millions of miles in my airline accounts. I’ve flown so many places and so far so often that flying does not have any allure for me. Really. My first frequent flyer account started with Eastern Airlines and I probably still have original miles. When I’m on my time, the last thing that I want to do is get on a plane. I prefer to drive.

And I still drive quite a bit. I’m getting older, though, and my ability to stay behind the wheel for marathon stretches has become somewhat diminished. Such is not the case for Alex Roy. He just beat the “Cannonball Run” record by driving from New York to Santa Monica in 31 hours, 4 minutes. That’s 13 states at an average of 95 miles per hour (although he pushed 160mph on a few stretches). Roy is sufficiently vague about exact dates so as to avoid prosecution.

