18
Nov
07

Better Bootleg?

There is hardly a music collection in existence that does not or should not contain the seminal work of Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon. It’s been a fan favorite for… well, forever. I’ve got it on vinyl and on CD. I bought one of those fancy “master” CD’s, too. But I drew the line when it was re-released in 2003 as a 5.1 SACD (yes, I have a 5.1 system, thank you very much). But did you know that there was a much older, original surround sound master that was made? I’m talking original 4.0 Quadrophonic by sound engineer Alan Parsons. Here’s a review for geeks to salivate over. This is an original master recording, not a re-master, etc. And if your Google-fu is strong and you know how to navigate various bays, you can get yourself a listen…

