19
Oct
07

Cat Update

As some of you may know from a previous entry, there is now a second cat in my house. There are a whole lot of issues involved with this cat, some of which I am only now discovering. Let’s get this stuff out of the way, first. She’s small and cute and her form of affection, which is often, involves licking. Weird, but cute. Now let’s recount. This around_one_year_old cat belonged to my oldest daughter’s best friend (I could be hip and type ‘BFF’). Best friend is moving back to California and best friend’s mom said no to the cat coming along. I got sucker punched and became the adoption agency for the cat. I said that I wanted to think about it and the next thing I knew, the cat was already in my house with all of my wimmin folk cooing over kitty. Great. I get to be the bad guy and make all of them pissed? Hell no! Did I tell you that the cat’s name is “Kidney”? Stupidist name for a cat, ever… although my neighbor had a cat named “Feces” and that name is right up there.

Kidney gets introduced to the litter pan and both cats seem to share it with no problems and no “mistakes”. So far so good. I ask daughter’s best friend which vet gave her shots and fixed her. Not done. So I now AM the bad guy because I have to stuff the cat into a carrier, put her in a car, take her to the vet, and have her girlie bits cut out, along with the vaccinations. My cats *never* go outside, but you never know. Kidney was significantly less than thrilled with this whole process. Later that evening, I’m actually reading the lab report on Kidney and mutter “Oh crap!” Wifey comes over and I point to the line that states “IN HEAT”. That explains some of the yowling. Once they are in heat, you pretty much have to deal with it, even if the girlie bits are gone.

It’s been about a week since surgery and best I can tell, Kidney is still in heat. How do I know this? Because she keeps on trying to mount our other cat. Yes, even though the girlie bits are gone, Kidney is trying to get a little sumthin’ sumthin’… From Daffodil, our other cat. Daffodil, the female cat, less her own girlie bits. Daffodil, who is less than thrilled about a lesbian feline encounter. Kidney is cute, but not too bright right now, her mind all clouded with kitty hormones. Oh, and Kidney is defective. As affectionate as she is, her purr motor is broken. And this cat did not come with warranty.

I’m still the only male in the house…

3 Responses to “Cat Update”


  1. 1 b
    October 19, 2007 at 8:22 am

    From the snap, the cat knows what you think of her.

  2. 2 jen
    October 19, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    poor kidney 😦 I did not realize that they would neuter when a cat is in heat. I will tell you though that it should not last… a cat that I had who had had kittens and been in heat many times got fixed shortly after I got her (not before she broke out of my house to get knocked up, but that is another story). Once she was fixed she did not exhibited signs of being in heat again. So perhaps after poor kidney get it out of her system she will be able to calm done.
    Good luck with all the ladies… and I hope that all is going well.
    jen

  3. October 19, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Apparently, some vets will do it if the heat cycle is not too far along. Vet also says that once this is over it will not happen again. Fingers crossed cause I dunno if Daffy can take it forever! I’m pretty lucky to have 2 such fun cats, though.


Comments are currently closed.

