19
Sep
07

Butter

With each passing day, I become more and more convinced that the fresh foods offered in regular grocery stores is getting worse. I’ve lamented tasteless tomatoes and limp lettuce. Now, butter is earning my ire. Butter used to have flavor. Of course, that flavor was fat, but that’s not the point. In the US, butter must contain 80% minimum butterfat by law. Since water is cheaper than butterfat, most commercial butter is blended down to 80% post churning. Go figure, corporate food producers working toward the minimimum. How surprising. Well I bought some Plugra the other day at a not so corporate grocery store. 86% butterfat! Butter is back (I know, it never left). And now I’m considering making my own. After all, I found this handy dandy guide on the interwebtubes…

