Archive for July 22nd, 2007

22
Jul
07

Outstanding Business Plan

   

What happens when you combine women clad in bikinis with a lawn care service? Aside from the obviously inevitable skin abrasions, I’m guessing a pretty good cash machine. And that’s exactly what Tiger Time Lawn Care has done in Memphis, Tennessee. The mind boggles at why this is just now happening…

22
Jul
07

Daring Durian

 

Wikipedia describes the durian as being “regarded as either fragrant or overpowering and offensive.” Travel and food writer Richard Sterling says “… its odor is best described as pig-shit, turpentine and onions, garnished with a gym sock. It can be smelled from yards away. Despite its great local popularity, the raw fruit is forbidden from some establishments such as hotels, subways and airports, including public transportation in Southeast Asia.” Hence, the Singapore Mass Rapid Transit sign of forbidden things shown above.

I have no desire to try one of these things. But the fact that one my business associates just did (and gave a telephonic play by play of the event) and that my buddy who I went shooting with yesterday is from Singapore and actually knows about this monstrosity… I felt the need to become better informed. I thought that I was many in that I have eaten sea urchin and fugu (poisonous puffer fish). I have been informed “not so much”. Bah…

22
Jul
07

Crispy Critter

Yesterday was mucho fun playing around at the range all day with fully automatic weapons. I was the range safety officer, otherwise known as Raul the Bullet Boy. Expecting a typical summer day in the Houston area, I was prepared for rain. Umm, that didn’t happen. Instead, it was kinda overcast (and humid) for about half of the day and then just plain friggin hot (and humid) for the rest. By the time I realized that I was burnt, it was way too late. I shall salve my lobsterishness with wifey’s expensive moisturizers and medicate from the inside out with a largish supply of Mojitos.