Archive for July 14th, 2007

14
Jul
07

How Things Work

Good advice is where you find it. In this case, it’s the comment section from a post on Slashfood:

4. While courting my wife, we got into a small spat and by way of apology (Robert Heinlein recommended that when you are in an argument with your wife and find you are right, your should immediately apologise) I brought her favorite beverage, champagne, home. Unfortunately, it was warm. Thinking quickly, I ran to the freezer where I kept a bag of frozen strawberries, which I used in place of ice cubes Problem and argument solved quickly and elegantly; my wife told me that was the point where she determined she would marry me.

Bravo!

14
Jul
07

Doggy Style

 

Via Electric Venom comes this truly bizarro story of a Pit Bull with urges. I’m reprinting the post in it’s entirety because she’s pretty much said all that needs to be said.

Quoteth EV:
I am not a fan of pit bulls. I do not buy the argument that they’re inherently gentle dogs and that those from the breed which are associated with attacks on people can be traced back to bad owners. Sorry, but I’m all too aware of what inbreeding does to humans: witness, for instance, Charles II of Spain.

Disagree with my position if you will, but one thing I’m confident we’ll agree on: this dog needs to be put down.

Police are investigating an apparent sexual attack by a family pit bull on a two-year-old boy in Lockport. The boy is at Women and Children’s Hospital, News 4’s Lorey Schultz reports. This two-year-old pit bull shows no signs of aggression, but it did on Sunday when it apparently sodomized a Lockport toddler. Residents who live in the neighborhood where it happened are still talking about it. One neighbor said, “You hear about dogs attacking children in horror films, but as far as in this community, it’s never happened.” Police say the boy was sexually assaulted in his Washburn Street home by his family’s two-year-old pit bull, who had been with them since it was a puppy. Lockport Police Detective Captain Larry Eggert said, “A little boy was home with his family, and the family pit bull actually sodomized the boy.” Eggert told us the boy’s family members and neighbors had to beat the dog to get it off the child.

Although not bit during the attack, the child has had to undergo surgeries to repair the physical trauma. The boy’s family want the dog destroyed, but they’re not allowed to take such steps until behavioral experts brought in by the police finish investigating the cause of the attack.

Say, what?

14
Jul
07

Society Is Doomed

A recent Reuters article gives insight into why people cannot remember simple things such as their home phone number and family birthdays. According to a survey released Friday, the boom in mobiles and portable devices that store reams of personal information has created a generation incapable of memorizing simple things. A reliance on technology, eh. It’s more basic than that. We’re also creating a generation SO reliant on technology that they cannot even do basic, practical math. When was the last time that you saw somebody under the age of 40 count back change? As in make the correct change on your purchase without need of the cash register telling them how much to give back? I suspect that it has been quite some time.

I suppose it is no longer a basic skill that is deemed necessary. I know that addition and subtraction are taught and their are classes all the way up to calculus for kids in high school. That said, I’m certain that these course are either being taught “to the test” or simply as concepts with no anchor to reality. It’s a shame. Because being able to count back change also means that you will know when you are getting short changed. Knowing how algebra works means that you can solve for the missing variable, which is hugely practical.

14
Jul
07

Damn This Traffic Jam

How I hate to be late… Hurts my motor to go so slow… By the time I get home my supper be cold… In case anyone was wondering, both the east and west bound lanes of Interstate 10, in Houston, will be completely closed this weekend. This should be total joy for folks who need to get from point A to point B and have no clue about alternate routes. Most of you will not care a wit about this, but the tales of woe will most assuredly be amusing.